Billy Q’s

My Dear Readers, I am SO,SO,SO,SO,SO,SO,SO,SO, sorry I have not posted articles sooner. My mom has been sick since late November and since she helps me write and proofread it was hard to write posts but now she is just about fully recovered from her illness.

2 weeks ago, my family and I went to Palm Desert for a week of “va-cay” and for years we’ve had a tradition of eating pizza our first night and for years we’ve tried to find THE perfect pizza place and this year we found it. The diamond in the rough, Billy Q’s. 5 minutes away from our resort, Marriott’s Shadow Ridge, nestled in a plaza surrounded by the sand of Palm Desert lays this pizza palace.

In 10 to 15 minutes that heavenly pizza comes out of the oven and you can’t wait to put that food in your mouth. The fluffy, cloud-like crust go perfectly with the tasty tomato sauce and the cheese. Oh, the cheese! One of the ways you know you have a good pizza is through the stretchy cheese and, boy, was this cheese stretchy!

Now, Billy Q’s can be considered a family restaurant but the tables are very high and the chairs are bar chairs making high chairs impossible and there is a small selection of alcoholic drinks and TV’s everywhere with sports channels on, however there is no sports bar.

The downside of Billy Q’s is that there is only one restaurant and it’s in Palm Desert. But when I went there Darnelle ( the co-owner) said that she was trying to get one closer to LA. Unfortunately, she did not say when it would “pop-up”.

The service is a solid 7, it’s pretty good, although the 2 times I went there I didn’t see one smile from a waiter and it makes me sad to see that they aren’t enjoying their job they way I’ve seen other waiters enjoy it.

So if you are taking a vacation in Palm Desert and you want pizza, I think you know you MUST go to Billy Q’s.

Leave a comment